Sunday Morning Greetings

It’s a cool, peaceful Sunday morning. Sitting with my coffee as company. I quite enjoy the early morning quiet.

I’m welcoming new beginnings, as I decided to accept the offer of being an Emcee for next week Sunday’s event. It will be my first time taking up this role. While I’m slightly nervous, its also something exciting, which I’m looking forward to. I often feel that I’m an introvert, but its times like this that my actions speak otherwise.

In life if we never take up new endeavours, we will always be stuck in one place. If we don’t try new things, we may just be missing out on an important part of life. Thats why when this role was offered to me, I didn’t decline. If the organisers believe that I can pull this off, then so do I. Besides that, having support from the people close to you makes a world of a difference.

I’m no stranger to being on stage, performing in front of a crowd. Alhamdulillah, I’ve broken that fear. It’s normal to have pre-performance jitters. I think its all part of the deal. But, there’s a huge difference between singing and taking the part of an Emcee. When I sing, I usually lose myself in what I’m doing. The only time I address the audience directly, is when I greet them at the beginning and end of a performance.

This is going to be something else completely. A new challenge for me. My script is staring at me, so I better go and spend some quality time with it.

Seven years of no public speaking and speeches. And now I’ve got a three and a half page script. Oh well, its never too late to start again.

To those of you who happen to read this post before next week, please pray that all goes well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

